Recognizing Excellence at SFA


SFASU Teaching Excellence and Faculty Recognition Awards

SFA Faculty Showcase - Now located in the Steen Library, a collection of faculty-authored books, art and other creative endeavors.  The Grand Opening Reception was held on Friday, May 2, 2008.  Featured faculty include: Rick Abel, Vi Alexander, Karol Chandler-Ezell, Ken Collier, Debbie Dufrene, Chad Erpelding, Piero Fenci, Gary Frields, Steve Galatas, Maki Hajikano, Julie Harrelson-Stephens, Ben Koerth, James Kroll, Charlie Jones, Richard Langley, Shiyou Li, Sandra McCune, Archie McDonald, John Moore, Michelle Rozic, and Jim Towns.  Displays will be rotated every 3-4 months.


Teaching Excellence Award - This Teaching Excellence Award recognizes faculty for their excellence in classroom teaching. Each year, six faculty receive college awards, one faculty member per college, and recognition from the university (Teaching Excellence Award Criteria and Guidelines), Previous Recipients, The Teaching Excellence Award Committee

SFASU Foundation Inc. Faculty Achievement Award for Teaching or Research - In 1994, the SFASU Foundation Board of Trustees, as an expression of its support for excellence in teaching, established an award to be presented to an outstanding faculty member each year in recognition of innovation and/or excellence in the area of teaching, research or service. Late in 1999, the board voted to establish two awards,
one for teaching and one for research.
(SFASU Foundation Faculty Achievement Award for Teaching or Research Form (.pdf)) Previous Recipients

Regents Professor Award - Recognition by the Board of Regents as a Regents Professor is the highest honor that the university has in its authority to bestow upon a member of the faculty.  This honor is reserved for faculty members who are well-rounded and exemplary in teaching, research, and service and who serve as role models to the university community ( See University Policy - A38)Previous Recipients

Distinguished Professor Award - established in 1966 for the purpose of honoring a current SFA faculty member who has made significant contributions to society and whose accomplishments and careers have brought credit to the institution (see also University Policy A-16, Distinguished Professor Award Form (.pdf))


University Lecture Series / Regents Lectures - Each year one or two of our own faculty are recognized and asked to present their work to the SFASU community.  These lectures are organized by the University Lecture Series Committee. Congratulations to Dr. Norm Markworth who will be giving the lecture 2008.


External Teaching Awards

Robert Foster Cherry Award for Great Teaching (Baylor University)

The Cherry Award program is designed to honor great teachers, to stimulate discussion in the academy about the value of teaching, and to encourage departments and institutions to value their own great teachers. The winner of the Cherry Award will receive a prize of $200,000 and will teach in residence at Baylor University during the 2008 fall or 2009 spring semester; travel expenses and a furnished apartment will be provided. To further Baylor University's commitment to great teaching, the winner's home department will receive $25,000.  For more information, please go to: