2007 Teaching Excellence Awards

April 17, 2007

Pictured are the College recipients of the 2007 Teaching Excellence Awards (left to right):

Dr. Phil Stetz, Dr. Rick Jones, Dr. Alyx Frantzen, Dr. Marlin Young, Ms. Leisha Bridwell, Dr. Doyle Srader, and Dr. Kenneth Farrish


The Teaching Excellence Awards were established in 1994 to honor outstanding classroom teachers at SFA. Selection criteria is divided into three categories which include knowledge of subject matter, interest in students, organization of classes and assignments, innovative instruction, letters from students, alumni, faculty and teaching colleagues, and contribution to improvement of teaching at the university.


Each of the six recipients received a plaque and $750 cash award.

Each of the College Teaching Excellence Recipients was presented followed by response of Recipient's Teaching Philosophy.



Recipients of 2007 University Teaching Excellence Award

Dr. Alyx Frantzen
College of Sciences and Mathematcis

The Teaching Excellence Award recipient for the College of Sciences and Mathematics is Dr. Alyx Frantzen.  Dr. Frantzen has served as Associate Professor of Chemistry since 2004.   She earned her bachelor’s degree from Texas Lutheran University, her Masters of Science and Ph.D. degrees from New Mexico State University.

“Dr. Frantzen is heavily involved with not only educating students but preparing them for careers beyond Stephen F. Austin State University”, said Michael Jansua, Professor and Chair, Chemistry.  Dr. Anthony J. Duben, Dean of College of Sciences and Mathematics described Dr. Frantzen’s performance as exemplary.





Dr. Doyle Srader
College of Liberal and Applied Arts


The Teaching Excellence Award recipient for the College of Liberal and Applied Arts is Dr. Doyle Srader, Lecturer in Speech Communication.  Dr. Srader received his bachelor’s degree from Baylor University, Master of Arts and Ph.D. from the University of Georgia.  Srader joined the Communication faculty in 1999.

Dr. James Standley, Dean of College of Liberal and Applied Arts described Dr. Srader as “a dynamic teacher who engages his classes with his mastery of human communication theory and the use of new technology in the delivery of communication instruction.  Dr. Srader is a hard working and highly professional individual who knows the discipline and helps his students focus on successes”.


Dr. Kenneth Farrish
College of Forestry and Agriculture

The Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture Teaching Excellence Award recipient is Dr. Kenneth Farrish, Professor of Forest Soils and Environmental Science.  Dr. Farrish has a bachelor’s degree and a Master of Science from Michigan Technological University and a Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota.  Dr. Farrish came to SFA in 1996 as Associate Professor from Louisiana Tech University.  In 2001 he was named first Director of the Division of Environmental Science.  He has overseen major modifications of curricula for the BS and MS degrees in Environmental Science; he also provided leadership in preparing a proposal to establish a Ph.D. program in Environmental Science.  In 2003, he was named the Arnold Distinguished Professor of Forest soils and Environmental Science. 

According to Dr. R. Scott Beasley, Dean of the Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture, “Dr. Farrish has proven to be a hard-working, dedicated and knowledgeable leader.”

Ms. Leisha Bridwell
College of Education

The College of Education Teaching Excellence Award recipient is Leisha Bridwell, Associate Professor, Interior Design, Department of Human Sciences.  Bridwell received her bachelor’s degree from Stephen F. Austin State University and Masters of Fine Arts from Louisiana Tech University.

Ms. Bridwell has high standards and diligently works for student success. She motivates and challenges students to achieve their highest potential and is most interested in the development of the whole student as a professional.

The following comment was written in Ms. Bridwell’s portfolio.  “Her positive and professional influence on scores of professional licensed interior designers across the state and nation is profound!  Leisha is held in high esteem by her many audiences; her talent in teaching is widely recognized and documented.”



Dr. Phil Stetz
College of Business

The Teaching Excellence Award recipient for the College of Business is Dr. Phil Stetz, Assistant Professor of Management.  Dr. Stetz holds bachelor’s degrees from Rockhurst College and University of West Florida, Master of Business Administration from Baylor University, and a Ph.D. from Texas Tech University.  Dr. Stetz joined the management faculty in 2002.

Stetz holds the Lavoy Moore Entrepreneurship chair.  Dr. Stetz sponsored and lead the SFA team invited to participate in the Elite Business Plan contest. 


Dr. Rick Jones
College of Fine Arts

The Teaching Excellence Award recipient for the College of Fine Arts is Dr. Rick Jones.  Dr. Jones is associate professor of Theatre. Dr. Jones received his bachelor’s degree from Dartmouth University, Master of Arts from University of Birmingham, and a Ph.D. from University of Kansas.

Dr. Jones is an exemplary professor who teaches some of the most demanding courses in the School of Theatre.  He has earned both the friendship and respect of his students.




Special Thanks


A special thanks to the members of the Teaching Excellence Committee who worked so hard to put this event together,

they are:

Dr. Tim Clipson, General Business (Chair of Teaching Excellence Committee)

Dr. Dennis Gravatt, Biology

Dr. Daniel Unger, Forestry and Agriculture
Ms. Sherry Williford, Communications
Dr. Tim King, Music

Dr. Lisa Mize, Human Sciences


Previous Convocations:

The 2006 Teaching Excellence Convocation

The 2005 Teaching Excellence Convocation

The 2004 Teaching Excellence Convocation

The 2003 Teaching Excellence Convocation

The 2002 Teaching Excellence Convocation

The 2001 Teaching Excellence Convocation

The 2000 Teaching Excellence Convocation

The 1999 Teaching Excellence Convocation

The 1998 Teaching Excellence Convocation

The 1997 Teaching Excellence Convocation

The 1996 Teaching Excellence Convocation

The 1995 Teaching Excellence Convocation

The 1994 Teaching Excellence Convocation

General Statement, Eligibility and Criteria